Special Forces

congressional Medal of Honor 

* Indicates a posthumous award

* Ashley, Eugene Jr. Dix, Drew D.  Miller, Franklin D. 
Beikirch, Gary B. Donlon, Roger H. C. *Sisler, George K. 
Benavidez, Roy P. *Hagen, Loren D.  *Versace, H.R. " Rocky"
*Bryant, William M. *Hosking, Charles E. Jr.  Williams, Charles Q. 
*Buker, Brian L. Howard, Robert L. *Yntema, Gordon D.
Cavaiani, Jon R. ______ *Kedenburg, John J.  ______ Zabitosky, Fred W. 

"For conspicuous gallantry,

 above and beyond the call of  duty...."

The President, in the Name of Congress, has awarded more than 3,400 Medals of Honor since the Decoration's creation in 1861. For years, the citations highlighting these acts of bravery and heroism resided in dusty archives and only sporadically were printed. The U.S. Senate ordered the citations compiled and printed in 1973, and later updated and reprinted in 1979. Listed here, duplicated from the congressional compilation, are the citations for the 31 members of Special Operations Forces who won the Medal of Honor or  Victoria Cross. Some minor misspelling and other errors are duplicated from the official government volume, in all probability the result of the original transcriptions. 

Visit Special Operations Memorial Main Site You will be Proud You did.

***All material,  photos and artwork on this web site is owned, solely funded and Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002  by SFAHQ.com 33617-1720.  Legals